• /FR
  • /EN

Travel light along the Canal de Garonne

DESTINATION:

Canal de Garonne

We transfer your luggage along the Canal de Garonne

Hiking invites you to do without the superfluous to take with you only the essential. However, it’s possible to maintain a certain comfort by finding your belongings at each stage. Bagafrance makes it easy for you to hike along the Canal de Garonne by handling your luggage transfer from Bordeaux to Toulouse.

The Canal de Garonne route

With the Canal du Midi, they constitute the "Canal des 2 Mers" by connecting the Atlantic Ocean to the Mediterranean Sea. Built in the nineteenth century, two centuries later than the Canal du Midi, also called "the Canal lateral to the Garonne" connects Toulouse to Castets-en-Dorthe, about fifty kilometers from Bordeaux, where the Garonne becomes navigable.

Over nearly 200 kilometers long, the canal passes near Montauban, Agen and Marmande before joining the Bordeaux region. 53 locks allow the boats to pass the 123 vertical meters difference on the route.

Traveling along the Canal de Garonne

Formerly the backbone of trade between the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea, the Canal de Garonne will lead you to discover the riches of the Southwest. Land of traditions, the region is renowned for its climate and its relaxed lifestyle. The small villages and their markets full of colors and scents are the showcase of a gastronomy full of local products: foie gras, prunes, duck breast or duck confit, piperade, cassoulet ... not to mention the famous vineyards that produce wines and liqueurs appreciated throughout the world. In the summer, travelers can immerse themselves and share the popular fervor at many events and traditional festivals.

Traveling along the Garonne Canal is an invitation to discover a region of France with a rich cultural and architectural heritage, full of charm and flavors.

Copyrights © 2021 & Bagafrance

• /FR
  • /EN

Randonnez léger le long du Canal de Garonne

DESTINATION :

Canal de Garonne

Canal de Garonne

Le transport de vos bagages le long du Canal de Garonne

Randonner invite à se passer du superflu pour ne prendre avec soi que l’essentiel. Il est toutefois possible de de préserver un certain confort en retrouvant ses effets personnels à chaque étape. Bagafrance vous facilite la randonnée le long du Canal de Garonne en prenant en charge le transfert de vos bagages de Bordeaux à Toulouse.

L'itinéraire du Canal de Garonne

Avec le Canal du Midi, ils constituent le « Canal des 2 mers » en reliant l’océan Atlantique à la mer Méditerranée. Construit au XIXème siècle, soit 2 siècles plus tard que le Canal du Midi, celui qu’on nomme également « le Canal latéral à la Garonne » relie Toulouse à Castets-en-Dorthe, à une cinquantaine de kilomètres de Bordeaux, où la Garonne devient navigable.

Sur près de 200 kilomètres, le canal passe à proximité de Montauban, d’Agen puis de Marmande avant de rejoindre la région de Bordeaux. 53 écluses permettent aux bateaux de franchir les 123 mètres de dénivelé du tracé.

Voyager le long du Canal de Garonne

Autrefois colonne vertébrale du commerce entre l’océan Atlantique et la mer Méditerranée, le Canal de Garonne vous mènera à la découverte des richesses du Sud-Ouest. Terre de traditions, la région est réputée pour son climat et sa douceur de vivre. Les petits villages et leurs places de marchés pleines de couleurs et de senteurs sont la vitrine d’une gastronomie qui regorge de produits du terroir : foie gras, pruneaux, magrets ou confit de canard, piperade, cassoulet… sans oublier les célèbres vignobles qui produisent vins et liqueurs appréciés à travers le monde. L’été, les voyageurs peuvent s’immerger partager la ferveur populaire lors de nombreuses manifestations et fêtes traditionnelles.

Voyager le long du Canal de Garonne est une invitation à partir à la découverte d’une région de France au riche patrimoine culturel et architectural, pleine de charme et de saveurs.

Copyrights © 2013 & Bagafrance